Ayurveda - The science of life

Ayurvedic medicine features the following eight specialty branches. These trainings are achieved at accredited Ayurvedic medical Schools.

Internal Medicine (Kaya-Chikitsa), which focuses on doshic imbalance, metabolic function, and digestion.
Surgery (Shalya Chikitsa).
Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat (Salakya Chikitsa).
Obstetrics/Gynecology (Prasuti and Stri-Rog).
Pediatrics (Bala Chikitsa/ Kaumarbhritya).
Psychology and Psychiatry (Bhuta-vidya or Graha-Chikitsa), which includes spirituality.
Toxicology (Agadha-tantra), which focuses on poisons ranging from insect bites to heavy metals and plants, and includes a medical jurisprudence role in which practitioners address cause of injury, death, and other medical ethics.
Rejuvenation/Geriatrics (Rasayana) and Virilification/Sexology (Vajikaran).

Njavara Kizhi (SHASHTIKA PINDA SWEDAM) involves fomentation of the body with boluses of specially cooked rice.A particular kind of rice known for its medicinal and nourishment value is cooked in milk along with suitable herbal decoction). These boluses are tied up in linen bags as kizhis. Indication. Very effective for rejuvenation, nourishment.Reduces pain and inflammation. Advised in paralysis, low back ache, neck pain and arthritis.

Pizhichil ( SNEHA DHARA ) Warm medicated oil is poured continuously on the person's body for 45 to 60 minutes.This Dhara is usually done in four to five postures. Indication. Effective for rejuvenation, improving blood circulation, reducing pain and inflammation. Advised in Paralysis, low back ache, neck pain and arthritis